

## OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

Meric S. Gertler FRSC, AcSS

President

To: Faculty, Staff, Students, and Alumni, University of Toronto Mississauga

Governing Council Academic Board Business Board

University Affairs Board UTM Campus Council UTSC Campus Council

Principals, Deans, Academic Directors, and Chairs

Professionals and Managerial Staff

Confidential Staff President of UTFA

Presidents of Employee Unions

Presidents of APUS, GSU, SCSU, UTMSU and UTSU

**From:** Professor Meric Gertler, President

Professor Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President and Provost

Date: September 9, 2016

Re: Call for Nominations for the Advisory Committee on the

Appointment of a Vice-President and Principal, University of Toronto

Mississauga

On June 23, 2016 the Governing Council approved the appointment of Professor Ulrich Krull as the Interim Vice-President, University of Toronto and Principal, University of Toronto Mississauga for a one-year term effective September 1, 2016 to August 31, 2017 or until the appointment of a new Vice-President and Principal, whichever comes earlier.

In accordance with Section 62 (b) of the *Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators*, we are writing to call for nominations of individuals to serve on the committee that will advise on the appointment of a new Vice-President and Principal.

The *Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators* mandates the potential composition of the advisory committee as follows:

- The President (Co-Chair);
- The Vice-President and Provost (Co-Chair);
- The Dean of the School of Graduate Studies or representative;
- Three to five members of the teaching staff of the campus;
- One to three students of the campus;
- A librarian, where appropriate;
- Two or three other qualified scholars from within or outside this University, but outside the campus;

• In addition, the committee may include an alumnus/a, a member of the administrative staff, and a qualified individual from outside the University.

Ms Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council, will serve as secretary to the Committee. Mr. Anwar Kazimi, Deputy Secretary, will also provide support.

Nominations for membership on the Advisory Committee should be sent by 5:00 p.m. on *Friday*, *September 16*, 2016 using the confidential online form available at: https://uoftgc.wufoo.com/forms/advisory-committee-for-vp-principal-utm-201617/

Questions should be directed to the Secretary at <a href="mailto:sheree.drummond@utoronto.ca">sheree.drummond@utoronto.ca</a> or 416-978-2118.