

OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

Meric S. Gertler FRSC, AcSS President

Memorandum to:	Faculty, Students and Staff, University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC)
	Governing Council
	Academic Board
	Business Board
	University Affairs Board
	UTM Campus Council
	UTSC Campus Council
	Principals, Deans, Academic Directors, and Chairs
	Professionals and Managerial Staff
	Confidential Staff
	President of UTFA
	Presidents of Employee Unions
	Presidents of APUS, GSU, SCSU, UTMSU and UTSU
From:	Professor Meric Gertler, President
	Professor Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President and Provost
Date:	November 8, 2017
Re:	President's Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Vice- President and Principal, University of Toronto Scarborough

On December 12, 2014, the Governing Council approved the appointment of Professor Bruce Kidd as Vice-President, University of Toronto and Principal, University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC), for a three and a half-year term, effective January 1, 2015 to June 30, 2018. Professor Kidd has indicated that he will not be seeking a reappointment.

In accordance with Section 62 (b) of the *Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators*, respecting the appointment of a Principal, an Advisory Committee has been struck with the following membership.

- Professor Meric Gertler, President (Co-Chair)
- Professor Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President and Provost (Co-Chair)
- Mr. Conor Anderson, Graduate student, UTSC
- Professor Aarthi Ashok, Department of Biological Sciences, UTSC
- Professor Joshua Barker, Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Vice-Provost, Graduate Research and Education
- Professor Amrita Daniere, Vice-Principal, Academic and Dean, University of Toronto Mississauga (UTM)
- Professor David Fleet, Department of Computer and Mathematical Sciences, UTSC

- Professor Katherine R. Larson, Chair, Department of English, UTSC
- Professor Hugh Laurence, Vice-Chair and Academic Director, Management and International Business, Department of Management, UTSC
- Ms Nazia Mohsin, Undergraduate student, UTSC
- Ms Victoria Owen, Chief Librarian, UTSC
- University Professor Keren Rice, Chair, Department of Linguistics, Faculty of Arts and Science
- Professor Salvatore (Sal) Spadafora, Vice-Dean, Postgraduate Medical Education (PGME) and Continuing Professional Development (CPD), Faculty of Medicine
- Ms Sitharsana Srithas, Alumna, UTSC
- Ms Kimberley Tull, Manager, Community Development and Engagement, UTSC
- Professor Holly Wardlow, Interim Director, Interdisciplinary Centre for Health and Society, UTSC
- Mr. Larry Whatmore, Community member, UTSC

In addition, following a formal Request for Proposals and a rigorous selection process, we have engaged the firm of Caldwell Partners to assist the Advisory Committee in its work.

The Advisory Committee is interested in receiving advice on priorities that the Committee should consider for the mandate for the next Vice-President and Principal and qualities that should be sought in the next Vice-President and Principal to ensure execution of the mandate. Comments may be submitted in confidence to Ms Heather Ring, Partner, Caldwell Partners, at <u>utscprincipal.search@caldwellpartners.com</u> by **5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, December 6, 2017**. Following input on the mandate and qualities, a call for nominations and a position profile will be distributed.

Questions should be directed to Ms Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council, (<u>sheree.drummond@utoronto.ca</u> or 416-978-2118).