



Meric S. Gertler, CM, FRSC, FBA, FAcSS

President

**To:** Governing Council

Academic Board Business Board

University Affairs Board UTM Campus Council UTSC Campus Council

Principals, Deans, Academic Directors, and Chairs

Professionals and Managerial Staff

Confidential Staff President of UTFA

Presidents of Employee Unions

Presidents of APUS, GSU, SCSU, UTMSU and UTSU

**From:** Professor Meric Gertler, President

**Date:** May 3, 2019

Re: President's Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Vice-President,

**Research and Innovation** 

As I <u>announced</u> on April 12, 2019, Professor Vivek Goel will complete his first term as Vice-President, Research and Innovation on January 31, 2020. Professor Goel is eligible for reappointment.

Following a call for nominations, I am pleased to announce that the membership of the Advisory Committee, which I will chair, is as follows:

- Cristina Amon, Dean, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering
- David Cameron, Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science
- Garth Gibson, President and CEO, Vector Institute for Artificial Intelligence
- Alexandra Gillespie, Department of English and Drama, UTM
- Gary Goldberg, Governor
- Heinz-Bernhard Kraatz, Vice-Principal, Research, UTSC
- Mama Adobea Nii Owoo, PhD Student, Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning, OISE
- Keren Rice, Department of Linguistics, Faculty of Arts and Science
- Paula Rochon, Vice-President, Research, Women's College Hospital and Professor, Department of Medicine
- Karan Singh, Department of Computer Science, Faculty of Arts and Science

- Janice Stein, Department of Political Science and Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy
- Lynn Wilson, Vice-Dean, Partnerships, Faculty of Medicine

The Advisory Committee's first task will be to undertake a review and advise me on the Research and Innovation portfolio and on priorities that should be considered for the Vice-President. Given that Professor Goel is eligible to be re-appointed, the Committee will also advise me on the question of his potential re-appointment. The Committee is interested in receiving comments and advice on these matters to inform its mandate. Comments should be submitted via the online form available at <a href="http://bit.ly/UofTVPRI\_Feedback">http://bit.ly/UofTVPRI\_Feedback</a> by 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, May 16, 2019. Comments will be kept confidential to the members of the Committee.

Questions should be directed to Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council (sheree.drummond@utoronto.ca or 416-978-2118).